5th August 2020

Cleeve Racing Review

Cleeve Racing Review

I had high hopes for Cleeve Racing but it seems that things have just gone from bad to worse in my trial.

My review hadn't started well in the first place with three losing months, but I kept going in hope that things would get better.

The results did improve with two winning months but I was still very much in the red. The final month turned out to be a catastrophe, with almost half of my bank lost in one go.

I am now forced to call it a day as my bank close to being completely wiped out. I have lost 90.8% of it!

It's a real shame as apart from the poor performance from this tips service, everything else has been brilliant.

The write-ups have been top-drawer, with analysis of other races included, not just the races that have tips attached.

You can instantly see how passionate the team are about racing, in fact they have recently just bought their own racehorse.

Cleeve Racing – Update SevenAdvised PricesPrice takenBetfair SP
Profit (£)(£ 490.00)(£ 490.00)(£ 472.66)
Profit (pts)(49.0)(49.0)(47.3)
New Bank£ 53.00£ 47.00£ 1.76
    
% Bank Growth-90.20%-90.80%-96.16%
Winning Bets778
Total Bets424242
Strike Rate16.67%16.67%19.05%
ROI-59.04%-59.04%-56.95%
Cleeve Racing – Whole TrialAdvised PricesPrice takenBetfair SP
Profit (£)(£ 947.00)(£ 953.00)(£ 998.24)
Profit (pts)(94.7)(95.3)(99.8)
New Bank£ 53.00£ 47.00£ 1.76
    
% Bank Growth-90.20%-90.80%-96.16%
Winning Bets393938
Total Bets167167167
Strike Rate23.35%23.35%22.75%
ROI-29.41%-29.60%-31.00%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

The Cleeve Racing team have acknowledged that results have been poor in comparison to previous years.

As an example, January to December last year produced 144 points profit which included a poor run towards the end of the year. Compare that to this year they are over 60 points down.

Chief tipster Andrew explained why he thinks this is:

"As Cleeve's main analyser I would like to offer every member my personal apologies for this dreadful run of results, I have spent a lot of time reanalysing our selections to try and understand why our form has dipped so much in the past few months.

I came to the conclusion that after a number of years of continuous profit that I had unconciously changed my approach and was becoming distracted by too many data components. I am going back to the proven formula that I used and hope that this will deliver an upturn in results in the coming months, my target is to end the flat season showing a decent profit.

Please note that I back every selection given to Cleeve members with my own money, so I am also enduring this extended losing period with some pain.
"

I have little choice but to put this trial down as a fail, however, I do feel like it deserves another look at some point in the future.

This isn't one of those services that appears out of nowhere and then disappears after a bad run of results. It has been around for years and has long-term members going back to 2014.

I will wait for things to settle for a while and then consider a re-trial.


Update Six: 14th March 2020

After a couple of positive months with profit beginning to chip away at the loss that had built up, month six turned out to be a disappointment.

It was a short month due to racing being halted during the COVID-19 pandemic. Although, there had still been more tips than the previous month as Cheltenham Festival had gone ahead just before the break.

The service didn't manage to win any money from Cheltenham and finished £203.50 down for the month altogether.

Cleeve Racing – Update SixAdvised PricesPrice takenBetfair SP
Profit (£)(£ 197.50)(£ 203.50)(£ 37.80)
Profit (pts)(19.8)(20.4)(3.8)
New Bank£ 543.00£ 537.00£ 474.42
    
% Bank Growth-45.70%-46.30%-52.56%
Winning Bets999
Total Bets282828
Strike Rate32.14%32.14%32.14%
ROI-37.26%-38.40%-7.13%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

I will be back with another update once the horse racing is back on.

Update Six: 14th March 2020

After a couple of positive months with profit beginning to chip away at the loss that had built up, month six turned out to be a disappointment.

It was a short month due to racing being halted during the COVID-19 pandemic. Although, there had still been more tips than the previous month as Cheltenham Festival had gone ahead just before the break.

The service didn't manage to win any money from Cheltenham and finished £203.50 down for the month altogether.

Cleeve Racing – Update SixAdvised PricesPrice takenBetfair SP
Profit (£)(£ 197.50)(£ 203.50)(£ 37.80)
Profit (pts)(19.8)(20.4)(3.8)
New Bank£ 543.00£ 537.00£ 474.42
    
% Bank Growth-45.70%-46.30%-52.56%
Winning Bets999
Total Bets282828
Strike Rate32.14%32.14%32.14%
ROI-37.26%-38.40%-7.13%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

I will be back with another update once the horse racing is back on.


Update Five: 25th February 2020

It's a similar story to last month for my latest Cleeve Racing review update with a small profit and another 12/1 winner.

Despite the UK being battered by storms lately and races being abandoned left, right and centre, there were three times as many tips this month.

I recorded a profit of £33.50 to £10 stakes at the available prices, but overall I am still in a losing position.

Cleeve Racing – Update Five Advised Prices Price taken Betfair SP
Profit (£) £ 33.50 £ 33.50 (£ 61.67)
Profit (pts) 3.4 3.4 (6.2)
New Bank £ 740.50 £ 740.50 £ 512.22
% Bank Growth -25.95% -25.95% -48.78%
Winning Bets 5 5 5
Total Bets 17 17 17
Strike Rate 29.41% 29.41% 29.41%
ROI 9.85% 9.85% -18.14%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

The service is chipping away and slowly recovering from what was a poor few months at the start of my trial. I can't give up now, so I will keep recording results and hope for another profitable month.

I will be back next month with another update.


Update Four: 23rd January 2020

Cleeve Racing achieved a small profit this month after a winning tip at 12/1!

This gave me a total profit of £44 to £10 stakes.

There were just 6 tips altogether with nothing more quite making it through Cleeve's selection process.

It is of course better to have a no bet than bet for the sake of it on horses offering no value.

Cleeve Racing – Update Four Advised Prices Price taken Betfair SP
Profit (£) £ 44.00 £ 44.00 £ 38.99
Profit (pts) 4.4 4.4 3.9
New Bank £ 707.00 £ 707.00 £ 573.89
% Bank Growth -29.30% -29.30% -42.61%
Winning Bets 1 1 1
Total Bets 6 6 6
Strike Rate 16.67% 16.67% 16.67%
ROI 36.67% 36.67% 32.49%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

It's good to see the service has finally had a profitable month in my trial. Hopefully this will continue and pull me back into an overall profit.

I will be back next month with another update.


Update Three: 2nd January 2020

Cleeve Racing have been having a rough time of it lately with another losing month, making it the third in a row.

For my trial to date I have lost £337.00 to £10 stakes, which is around a third of my starting bank. The service advises bets at fairly high odds so there's every chance they can still pull things back from this losing patch.

Cleeve Racing – Update Three Advised Prices Price taken Betfair SP
Profit (£) (£ 43.00) (£ 43.00) (£ 152.63)
Profit (pts) (4.3) (4.3) (15.3)
New Bank £ 663.00 £ 663.00 £ 534.90
% Bank Growth -33.70% -33.70% -46.51%
Winning Bets 6 6 5
Total Bets 29 29 29
Strike Rate 20.69% 20.69% 17.24%
ROI -8.11% -8.11% -28.80%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

Given that Cleeve was voted "Best Horse Racing Tipster" in my annual Betting System Oscars, I am going to carry on with my trial for a few more months and hopefully get back into the green.

I will be back next month with another update.


Update Two: 26th November 2019

Things have gone from bad to worse for my Cleeve Racing review with another losing month.

It brings my total loss up to £294 to £10 stakes.

There were 3 winning bets throughout the whole month making it a strike rate of just 12.5%.

Cleeve Racing – Update Two Advised Prices Price taken Betfair SP
Profit (£) (£ 249.00) (£ 249.00) (£ 275.84)
Profit (pts) (24.9) (24.9) (27.6)
New Bank £ 706.00 £ 706.00 £ 687.53
% Bank Growth -29.40% -29.40% -31.25%
Winning Bets 3 3 2
Total Bets 24 24 24
Strike Rate 12.50% 12.50% 8.33%
ROI -55.33% -55.33% -61.30%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

I'm not ready to throw the towel in with this service yet, as the long-term results are good and there is just something about the Cleeve team gives me confidence.

Their system has been tried and tested over several years and it seems as though they have just hit a bad run.

But, time will tell! I will be back next month with another update.


Update One: 24th October 2019

It has been an unfortunate month for Cleeve Racing with some close calls that meant I ended up losing £45 to £10 stakes.

There was just one winning bet and seven places, one of them placing at huge odds of 29/1!

On a positive note, betting each-way has made sure that profits were still coming in to tide me over whilst waiting for those elusive winners.

Cleeve Racing – Update One Advised Prices Price taken Betfair SP
Profit (£) (£ 45.00) (£ 45.00) (£ 36.64)
Profit (pts) (4.5) (4.5) (3.7)
New Bank £ 955.00 £ 955.00 £ 963.36
% Bank Growth -4.50% -4.50% -3.66%
Winning Bets 8 8 8
Total Bets 21 21 21
Strike Rate 38.10% 38.10% 38.10%
ROI -10.71% -10.71% -8.72%

Click here to view my results log.

Summary

I'm still feeling positive about Cleeve Racing, especially since they won the Betting System Oscar recently for "Best Horse Racing Betting Tipster".

I hope to see an improvement in results next month.


Introduction: 20th September 2019

Cleeve Racing claim to have had 16 consecutive seasons of profit!

For example, during the 2018/19 National Hunt season, Cleeve Racing claim to have made a profit of more than 62pts which is around £200 tax free profit every month based on £20 stakes.

They seem to have been performing just as well during the 2019 Flat season with 71pts profit recorded so far.

What strikes me about this service first off is that although their results page shows a profit of 540pts since they launched in 2014, this hasn't been splashed all over the home page.

Most tipsters will make a point of bragging about the profits that they have made. Some even go as far as throwing up a picture of a sports car or a sandy beach to show you what signing up to their service could help you achieve.

Cleeve Racing seem to be more concerned with showing their professionalism and explaining how important it is to be selective and disciplined in order to beat the bookies.

They are certainly choosy with their bets, focusing on Class 1 and 2 races and not just betting for the sake of it. They based their selections on in-depth race analysis, using 12 form factors to create their own custom race ratings.

A notification is sent by email each evening when the tips are released with a link to the member's area. Here there is a write-up on each the days top races, whether there is a bet on the race or not. There is also a list of Cleeve's top rated runners for each race which could be handy for further research for forecasts or place bets.

Impressive results and it's time for me to run an official trial.

I will be back with an update in a month's time.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Leave a Reply: